The French Girl

take-the-bull-by-the-horns

Some more thought-provoking writing from Pam, who recently had a visitor from France to stay. From what she tells me, it sounds like the visit itself was enjoyable and a success, but it also inspired some new thinking for her. I think fear is something that can stop all of us (certainly me) from doing things we would like sometimes – how can we ‘take the bull by the horns’ as Pam says, and really live our lives vividly? It would be great to hear any ideas especially for small daily things that that can get us out of our comfort zone and into the new… Thanks again Pam for your thoughts.

My son Jared called me and asked if a girl who was backpacking around the world could stay with me for a few days. I didn’t think about it, I just said ‘yes’ as I felt that Jared was proud of me for him to ask this, so on Tuesday night I went to the airport and picked her up. The drive home was a little awkward as she didn’t know me and I didn’t know her. I admire her for her strengths to travel the world on her own. I get lost going to the shop – well not quite – but when in Perth I did get lost on the way to see my dad and had a major melt down, and yet here she is on her own travelling this big world. I don’t want to do what she is doing but I want to have the courage and the strength that she has. She is 30 and I am 50 yet I have so much fear, so the lesson in these ravings is take the bull by the horns and go for it. It doesn’t have to be travelling the world, it could be something as simple as meeting someone new or eating something different. Just let’s get out of our comfort zone and try something new before  life passes us by.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The French Girl

  1. Mandy says:

    Hey Pam, great story, (again) I do so enjoy reading your stories and thoughts.
    I like to think I have the quality to try new things. This year I have joined a female 8 ball club and Night Owls, all by being bold and going to the clubs on my own and joining up. I have made some new friends and love the mid week games to look forward to. A very special person I know (my son) once said “You don’t die from embarrassment” I try to embrace that. X X

    • Hi Mandy,
      Great to hear from you again – and how inspiring to hear of your adventures. I admire you a lot, as it is hard for me to front up to things and have a go at times. Sam’s wisdom about embarrassment is really good to keep in mind too.
      Thanks a lot for being part of the blog.
      Cheers
      Elizabeth

  2. nickypage says:

    Lovely little story – and beautifully written – I love that you cut your self criticism off in mid sentence Thanks, Nicky 🙂

  3. Hey Nicky, great to hear from you! Pam’s stories are great aren’t they – really thought-provoking and honest. I am so glad that she writes for us. Thanks for your comment. xx

Leave a Reply

