For Sweetie

IMG_3336IMG_0008 IMG_0153IMG_0149IMG_2094IMG_3339

I have been sad this week as my dear little cat Sweetie has died. She was not ill for very long, and so it was a bit of a shock, and I am missing her terribly. She was such a sweet presence and made being at home a treat. She was always happy to see me, even if I was late, or grumpy, and I am really missing her gentle affection.  She had her quirky ways, and like lots of cats was a mixture of independence, self-reliance, and soppiness. She could be very insistent if she wanted something, and like many cat owners, I was putty in her paws – she said jump, I said how high. She was blind in her later years, but you would never have known it from the way she behaved. Her last illness must have been unpleasant also, but she didn’t make a fuss about that either. There is a lot I could say about her, but it’s all still a bit of a jumble for me. The main thing is I miss her, and I am very thankful to have had the chance to love and be loved by her. She was a treasure.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to For Sweetie

  1. mandy says:

    Oh Elizabeth….I am very sad too. Sweetie was lucky to have YOU love her.

  2. pam says:

    I love seeing u even if u are grumpy sad happy or strang witch u are most of the time but we love u and I no how sad this is just think sweetie was so lucky to have such a nice life living with u and not same were else
    she might not off being loved so much we are thinking of u and sending u lots and lots of love

  3. Kathy says:

    She was a lovely cat, I always enjoyed it when she let me stroke her. It’s nice to see the photos of her looking relaxed. Take care xxx

  4. nickypage says:

    Oh dear how sad for you to lose your little mate. What a lovely tribute to her,in words and pictures. I also loved that she’d often settle on my lap for a visit .

  5. Pingback: Eye contact with animals | Stories of buttons and bread

Leave a Reply

