Send me a Leaf

find me a pretty leaf 18

Send me a Leaf

Send me a leaf, but from a little tree

That grows no nearer your house

Than half an hour away. For then

You will have to walk, you will get strong and I

Shall thank you for the pretty leaf.

                                                           Bertolt Brecht (translated by David Constantine)

Last week someone came to see me who is experiencing a terrible grief after the death of someone precious to her. A few days after our conversation I received a letter from her enclosing the above poem. I was so moved by it, and have been thinking of her and her dear one a lot. Our love for people is so strong, and our pain consequently also very strong, but within it all, there is also beauty and strength and the continuance of the love, if we are lucky, alongside the pain.

This morning I went for a walk for half an hour and more to find a pretty leaf for her and for the one who has died, and for all my dear ones too – and for you. I went along the beach

find me a pretty leaf 3

find me a pretty leaf 1

past enthusiastic dogs and walkers,

find me a pretty leaf 5

and then around the corner past the retirement village with its new plants,

find me a pretty leaf 6

find me a pretty leaf 8

and down the street past this lovely garden,

find me a pretty leaf 10

and at around the half hour mark found a pretty pelargonium leaf,

find me a pretty leaf 11

find me a pretty leaf 12

and then another,

find me a pretty leaf 16

and on the way back some rosemary, the plant that symbolises remembrance, and is thus very apt to this post.

find me a pretty leaf 13

And now after my long walk I have brought the pretty leaves to you, with love and memories and a stronger heart.

find me a pretty leaf 17

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Send me a Leaf

  1. Mandy says:

    Thank you for my pretty leaves and thanks for your stronger heart. x x x

  2. pam says:

    that was buttifull it is so heard to loose same one I still talk to marty and my dad every day and there is not one day my dad dose not make me smile I hope u find your smile x

Leave a Reply

