Sunflowers

I am the world’s worst gardener – or at least a contender for the title – and as ever, didn’t manage to grow the sunflowers that I planted after being given a few seeds at a community event at the end of last year. I did get the seedlings up, though, and that was thrilling enough, seeing a lump of pale green above the soil in the little cup I planted them in, the dirt pushed aside by the growth.

IMG_3505[1]

IMG_3513[1]

What an astonishing sight. Anyway, I didn’t get them into the ground before they died,  but other people have had more success. I saw some of the bright yellow flowers blooming at Aldinga Children’s Centre a couple of weeks ago,

Sunflowers at Aldinga

sunflowers at Aldinga 2

sunflowers at Aldinga 3

and then some neighbours down the road have these gigantic ones that are now going to seed.

IMG_3912[1]

IMG_3911[1]

IMG_3914[1]

Plus a couple of a smaller variety, also at the end of their season.

IMG_3915[1]

I went up to their place this morning to take some photos to put on here, and now I have some seeds for next year.

IMG_3913[1]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunflowers

  1. Mandy says:

    Love sunflowers, one of my favourites, especially in the fields of Tuscany !
    I bought myself a pot at Christmas and had them outside my bedroom window, so every morning when I pull up the blind there are their smiling faces looking at me. 🙂 🙂

  2. Pingback: Wisteria Central | Stories of buttons and bread

Leave a Reply

