Wisteria Central

IMG_4267[1]

Writing this blog has made me aware of some things about myself that I wasn’t really conscious of. One of them is how much I like plants – flowers and trees especially. I have written posts about roses and spring flowers and jacarandas (a couple of times) and favourite trees and sunflowers and trees coming into leaf in spring and probably more. I am a terrible gardener (which may be one reason that I hadn’t really noticed how much I respond to plants), but I do love other people’s gardens, and spring is such a great season to appreciate them. The past few weeks have seen the first flush of roses and before that wisteria, which blooms early in the season. They have passed now for the most part, but in September I saw wisteria wherever I went, both here in Adelaide and in Auburn. In walks around my place wisteria flowered in many gardens (the first dozen-plus  pics below are taken in a radius of about five minutes from my place). At work there were wisteria all over the place too – one fantastic plant (is it a tree or a shrub or what?) on the way to the CHO office (which I didn’t manage to photograph), and in Auburn as well. I took lots of pictures, some of which were more successful than others, but it will give a flavour. In some photos you need to really look to see the flowers, in others the purple is really leary (the picture above is one of these, taken a short walk from my place in Glenelg), in some the plant is climbing through other trees, smothering them in unaccustomed colour. They are a wonderful seasonal treat.

IMG_4268[1] IMG_4269[1] IMG_4270[1] IMG_4271[1] IMG_4272[1] IMG_4273[1] IMG_4274[1] IMG_4275[1] IMG_4276[1] IMG_4277[1] IMG_4278[1] IMG_4279[1]

The photos above look a bit weird as I was taking the picture with the flash, as the plants were in the shade. Bit of an arty effect maybe…

IMG_4282[1]

You really have to look for the one above (easier to see if you enlarge it).

IMG_4283[1] IMG_4284[1] IMG_4285[1] IMG_4290[1] IMG_4291[1]

In this picture (above) the wisteria is overshadowed by the planter basket of lobelia – lovely.

IMG_4292[1] IMG_4304[1]

The photo above was taken of dad’s wisteria which is planted on the side of the chook shed.

IMG_4305[1] IMG_4306[1]

This plant (above and the two below in close up) was planted by my grandparents on the side of their carport in around the 1960’s. They lived across the road from us in Auburn.

IMG_4307[1] IMG_4308[1] IMG_4309[1] IMG_4310[1]

The two snaps above show wisteria climbing through gum trees in the next door’s yard (Auburn again).

IMG_4311[1]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Wisteria Central

  1. Nola Inglis says:

    Wow! Definitely wisteria fever!!!! Magic!!! All my sunflower seeds are popping up!! I have been singing them up!!!! Yaaaay !! Thank you for your wonderful posts xx Love Nolax

  2. nickypage says:

    The song for wisteria would go ” I’m so looking forward to seeing your beauty again… please don’t take over my garden … I’m going to have to prune you lots .. I’ll be gentle”

  3. Well in that case I should try and grow it myself. Anything I attempt has to have a will of its own I think!!! Good to hear from you dear and hope your time away went well…xx

  4. Pam says:

    I love this post I love the photos I’m wisteria is one of my favourite plants I think it’s the mystic behind it it’s like makes you think of fairies and dragons and I’m forests and beautiful forest in the fairies are jumping from plant to plant but it also has that romantic side where you walk down and I’ll of wisteria to get married I just think it’s just such a dreamy dreamy plants

    • Pam how lovely to hear from you and what a great comment about wisteria. It’s true, it is a great plant for the imagination and for romance – I hadn’t thought of fairies and dragons etc, but now you mention it, it’s perfect for such things.

  5. Pingback: Bird-watching (sort of) | Stories of buttons and bread

Leave a Reply

