Cherry Christmas

IMG_4492[1]

It’s hard to imagine a Christmas here, a summer, without cherries. They turn up early and, along with the Pageant, seem to anticipate the festivities. We always have them on Christmas day – I remember very early Christmases at my grandparent’s place (across the road from us). They had a cherry tree in the back yard, and my granny used to drape a pair over each ear, and of course we did too. I always think of her when I wear them now!

This year, I got a kilo in a fit of extravagance the first week they were at the market at the end of November, an early variety grown in the Riverland, and took them to Auburn when I went that day. I shared them out at lunch time with dad, Helen and Nev, and I don’t know if it was because we hadn’t had any for 11 months, but they were sensational! Dad (aged 92) said he thought they were the best cherries he’d ever eaten. That variety, Serena, has finished now, and I bought Vans this week, again from Louie at Eko Fruits in Renmark. They are delicious too.

As Christmas approaches, I put a word in for the growers and producers of the treats that we may have at this time of year. The cherries – not a robust fruit and thus vulnerable to disaster – and all the rest – whether it be traditional fare, or seafood, or something simpler, someone has to grow it, produce it, cook it, prepare it, and those folk are the often unsung treasures of the season (in fact of all the seasons).

So, have a Cherry Christmas and many thanks to Louie and all the other cherry growers for your work and the resulting delicious produce…

IMG_4504[1]

Louie from Eko Fruits at the Showground market on Sunday.

IMG_4502[1]

A box of Van cherries at the market…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cherry Christmas

  1. romi789 says:

    Always envious for your glorious Australian seasonal fruit, I’m making do with the last of the cooking apples, Bramleys, grown in my son’s back garden. Still hanging on the branches, even though all the leaves have gone, the remaining apples look like Christmas baubles without glitter. . So its apple crumble and custard for pudding as we settle into a very mild winter here in the UK.
    Seasons greetings to Elizabeth and all my old pals in Adelaide

  2. Hi Romi,
    How lovely to hear from you! Yes, it’s very different on the other side of the world, and it always seems a bit weird to have snowy Christmas cards etc. Cherries are hard to beat that is for sure. I will try ringing you in the next day or two – here’s hoping the line is better than it was last time!
    xx

  3. Mandy says:

    My sister and I used to hang cherries from our ears, twirling around imagining we had the most spectacular earings on.
    oh sometimes hoe I wish for those youthful innocent days of childhood sisterhood, instead of this adult world of today where we do not even communicate or acknowledge each other….
    Well Merry Christmas anyway to the sister I once had.
    I have not tasted a bad cherry this year, they have all been very juicy and yummy.

    Happy New Year xx

    i

  4. Hi Mandy,
    Thanks for your comment once again. It is always lovely to hear from you. I am glad to know there were other ‘earring wearers’ out there too – of course! It is good to remember the happy times too, and who knows what will happen in the future for you and your sister…
    Happy NY to you too…xx

Leave a Reply

