Sometimes Blessings

horse to water

Dragging a horse to water

A couple of poems this week that remind me of each other – one (Blessings) I read for the first time yesterday, the other (Sometimes) I’ve known for years and first saw in the UK in their poems on the Underground series. They both have a hopeful orientation, and see that things aren’t so bad after all.  And they are quirky and warm too. This is an antidote in an election campaign, and a good reminder  when there are difficult things abounding for some special people in my life. I send these poems to them.

Blessings

occur.
Some days I find myself
putting my foot in
the same stream twice;
leading a horse to water
and making him drink.
I have a clue.
I can see the forest
for the trees.

All around me people
are making silk purses
out of sows’ ears,
getting blood from turnips,
building Rome in a day.
There’s a business
like show business.
There’s something new
under the sun.

Some days misery
no longer loves company;
it puts itself out of its.
There’s rest for the weary.
There’s turning back.
There are guarantees.
I can be serious.
I can mean that.
You can quite
put your finger on it.

Some days I know
I am long for this world.
I can go home again.
And when I go
I can
take it with me.

By Ronald Wallace

feet in river

Feet in same river (twice)

Sometimes
.
Sometimes things don’t go, after all,
from bad to worse. Some years, muscadel
faces down frost: green thrives; the crops don’t fail,
sometimes a man aims high, and all goes well.

A people sometimes will step back from war;
elect an honest man; decide they care
enough, that they can’t leave some stranger poor.
Some men become what they were born for.

Sometimes our best efforts do not go
amiss; sometimes we do as we meant to.
The sun will sometimes melt a field of sorrow
that seemed hard frozen: may it happen to you.

Sheenagh Pugh

Muscadel faces down frost

Muscadel (or some other grape variety) avoiding frosts

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sometimes Blessings

  1. Kathy says:

    i like these antidotes, working on me.

Leave a Reply

