Dreads

bottlebrush-1

Bottlebrushes are flowering everywhere at the moment, absolutely everywhere. They are very common street trees, and in people’s gardens, with the most common kind, the red-flowering ones vastly outnumbering the pink ones, and the pale yellow kind. They remind me of people with dreadlocks – I wrote a little haiku about this about 20 years ago that I dug up this morning for this post – so it’s an idea that’s been in my mind for a long time.

Rasta bottlebrush
trees move to the beat of the
lilting spring morning

Here is a comparison (dread photos courtesy of the internet)…

Young ones:

Stevie Wonder (lots at the bottom not much on top):

Thinning and a bit grizzled:

Adolescent:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dreads

  1. nickypage says:

    That may be your best post ever. Although there is a lot of competition for that title!

  2. Kylie D says:

    Agree with Nicky. That’s great! I have never seen bottlebrush like that before but just went for a drive and there were dreadlocks everywhere!

  3. Mandy says:

    I have quite a large Bottle Brush tree in the centre of my front yard laden with “red flowers”

    I am also happy to say that I planted a red rose bush with a family friend on the 27th for the 1 year anniversary of my Mum dying. We mixed some of Dad’s ashes with Mum’s and after only a few weeks, it has grown 6 inches and my first rose is budding. XX 🙂

    Cheers, Happy Spring (when it arrives ) Mandy

    • Mandy that’s lovely – I am so pleased. The rain has done lots of plants good I think, and there has possibly been just enough sun to get things really going. it sounds like a great tribute to your mum and dad.
      Lots of love Mandy
      xx

Leave a Reply

