Love and memories at the beach

brighton-beach-7

Saturday morning at Brighton beach

I have been to Brighton a few times lately, just a bit further down the coast from home. I was there this morning with Megan and Jonquil (why I didn’t take a picture of them I don’t know!) for a walk and a cuppa, and after we went our separate ways I began to take notice of the different memorial plaques on the seats along the front. I can never resist a plaque! The tiny hints they offer of lives lived, the tenderness so often expressed, the exactitude of the dates, every day counting for something. All there facing the water, and today it was so fine and blue, the sand rearranged into strange sandbars after the recent storms. Brighton has a couple of famous-ish plaques too… see below to find out who. But mostly, notice the love and happiness that is expressed in the simple words. Lives lived near the beach. (The pictures will enlarge if you click on them.)

Before I went home I drove back via Somerton beach, and my favourite plaque of all along the front – it’s been put there by a family who lived in the street nearby, Harrow Road. The house itself has been demolished and replaced by a couple of new dwellings, so I am really curious about what it was like when this very large family lived there, but I just love the sense of gratitude, and of the happiness they had at number 69!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

